Beautiful Bank Holiday

This weekend was spent with family, having fun, doing jobs round the house and cooking!

After an action packed Saturday taking my youngest daughter to Swimbabes, (after she managed to get hold of the Sudocrem tub and covered her face) visiting the supermarket and just generally trying to keep the kids away from their dad who was putting a new garden fence up I made some Beetroot Burgers.

Beetroot Burgers might sound pretty disgusting, but they made a gorgeous change from normal burgers and were packed with lots of healthy goodness and at only 166 calories per serving (minus the bread) what’s not to love. In fact, in hindsight I would have preferred these burgers on their own with a nice salad and dressing to accompany as otherwise it can be a kind of carb overload. But definitely worth trying it you fancy a healthier option or are veggie.

Alongside these I made some peanut buttercups as a little sweet treat for the weekend. I subbed for Organic Peanut butter and managed to make 16 of these coming in at 78 calories per serving. They are rich enough and tasty enough to be satisfied eating the one! Or maybe two if you’re following the 80/20 rule! Perfect for when you need a little treat.

Both the above recipes can be found at Sprouted Kitchen a fab website with hundreds of whole food recipes. There are plenty here that I plan to try in the future and will no doubt cover.

Sunday was a little bad on the food front after starting off so well. The main issue was that I had to take the kids to TWO parties and party food has to be the worst! Even worse not even one veg stick in sight. So after consuming around 1000 calories in unsatisfying rubbish I really though I ought to do a little workout. Cue FitnessBlender a site with lots of free full length workout vids! 30 minutes burnt off 294 calories so made me feel a little less guilty about a day of not eating too great!

Bank Holiday Monday was spent with the kids, the husband cooked poached eggs on wholemeal toast for me – just how I like. He knows how picky I am at breakfast now and helps ensure I get as much protein based foods whenever he decides to make me something. We then took the girls swimming then came back to enjoy the garden and the first decent weather the UK has had this year!

I was starving when I got back and after much debate I finally opted for a protein pancake – I wanted something healthy but sweet so opted for a recipe from another of my favourite sites, Nic’s Nutrition! I’m really loving this site at the moment, but have so far only made various breakfast concoctions. Although there are plenty of other amazing recipes I plan to try.

She has so many amazing recipes but I opted for the Oat Banana Protein Pancake as it had the highest amount of protein, but with the oats and banana’s would leave me feeling fuller for longer. These make proper American Style pancakes (3 in total) all coming in at a total of 271 calories! I then added some blueberries to the mixture and then topped with a little honey and extra slices of banana. Just perfect for the summer sunshine!

After enjoying the summer sun and listening to the girls play together (mostly) nicely my husband made a Roast Chicken dinner with plenty of lovely veg. Topped off by a visit from my mum and more time in the garden it made for a lovely weekend (aside from the pile of ironing I then had to get done!)

Ooh and I lost 2lbs since my last weigh in! Happy Days!

Oat Banana Protein Pancake Peanut Butter Cup Beetroot Burger

What are your thoughts?

