The beauty of Illamasqua

Today we had a rare day without the kids and after much debate as to what to do we decided to spend the day in Leeds. We were visiting the food festival but I was quietly hoping to squeeze in a bit of shopping too!

This gave me the perfect opportunity to pop into the Illamasqua store to have a look at their product range. Having only dabbled in Illamasqua nail polishes that I have purchased online I really wanted to speak with an Illamasqua Make Up Artist to find out which products were best suited to my complexion.

Not only was I able to get some insight but I also got a full makeover! Jennifer was my make up artist today and was simply lovely, we had a similar taste in colours but with summer coming up I’m quite keen to lighten my eye shadow so it’s not too dark. My make up does not change from day to evening or through the seasons and I stick to the smoky eye with greys and blacks.

Jennifer started by applying Hydra Veil, a gel make up base which she allowed to settle on my skin whilst working on my eyes. Jennifer opted for the Complement Palette which includes the colours Slink, Focus, Queen of the Night and Forgiveness finishing off the eyes with the gel liner. I have used the MAC gel liner in the past and have more recently been using mineral powder to recreate this look but the Illamasqua gel liner will be part of my next purchase – 7 hours later and it is still going strong!

Jennifer matched my skin to Skin Base Foundation in shade 6. I honestly think this is the best foundation I have ever used and it matches perfectly to my skin tone, it also provides a nice matte coverage which is buildable but it feels so light on the skin. This product has been missing from half my life, but I am so happy to finally have discovered it!

We then moved on to cheeks applying Naked Rose on to the apples of the cheeks and using Aurora to contour. I have had so many mistakes with blusher in the past that I loved having someone match up my tones with the right blusher along with showing me how to make the most of my features using both a blusher and a highlighter.

Finally lips – I am not one for lips, again I just don’t know which colours to go for and after mistakes made in the past I just don’t buy lipsticks anymore. However, Jennifer introduced me to Climax which she mixed with the Opulent lipgloss to create something unique.

It was an amazing hour, I felt comfortable the whole time, the girls in the store truly are wonderful, I have never felt at such ease at a beauty counter before but they are so unbelievably friendly and are masters of their art! I for one will be back for more when my make up bag is due a refill!

A makeover costs £30 but is redeemable against products instore. I walked away with the foundation, complement palette and highlighter but have noted all the products used so I can add them to my birthday wishlist!

I love the finished result! So much so that I don’t want to take it off, but we all know we shouldn’t sleep in our make up so soon I will reluctantly be removing it 😦 I really am looking forward to using Illamasqua products on a regular basis as today my skin has felt great!

Illamasqua Make Over

What are your thoughts?

