Summer Lunch – Turkey & Mango Salad

After eating a similar dish at Giraffe in Manchester Airport on Monday evening I was keen to replicate this dish at home (and with fewer calories). Giraffe’s version was Chicken, King Prawn and Mango with a Tequila and Lime Dressing, although they didn’t state the nutritional data, which although they do for some dishes, they didn’t for this which leads me to believe it was over 600 calories! Not having nutritional data in restaurants – especially chains – is one of my major gripes! My dish comes in at 371 calories!

So I ordered the ingredients I needed in order to replicate at home, which was delivered by Sainsbury’s this morning just 10 minutes into my delivery slot, perfectly ripe ready to use immediately. Out of all the supermarkets delivery service, Sainsbury’s in my opinion is by far the best, with good shelf lives on the products and I just feel that I am not waiting until the last few minutes of my 2 hour slot for the items to be delivered!

Yesterday The Model Foodie also posted a similar recipe on her blog too! So this really is the dish of the moment!

What you need (Serves 1)

  • 125g Diced Turkey Breast (I used a grilled Turkey steak and diced myself).
  • 50g Iceberg Lettuce or any other leaves
  • 75g Cucumber with Peel – quartered
  • 1/2 (or 50g) Avocado
  • 70g Mango diced
  • 40g (roughly 4) plum tomatoes halved
  • 30g Total 0% Fat Free Greek Yoghurt for the dressing mixed with the juice of half a lime

Once the Turkey breast is cooked combine all the ingredients in a dish, top with the dressing if using – alternatively you can do what The Model Foodie does and just use the juice of the lime.

And voila…. a healthy lunch that is high in protein perfect for summer!

Enjoy! (Nutritional stats under the picture!)

Turkey Mango Salad

Nutritional Information

  • Calories – 371
  • Total Fat – 13g
  • Sat Fat – 3g
  • Carbs – 19g
  • Dietry Fibre – 5g
  • Sugars – 14g
  • Protein – 43g
  • Vit A – 1%
  • Vit C – 29%
  • Calcium – 6%
  • Iron – 2%

Overall 47% Protein, 32% Fat & 21% Carbs

What are your thoughts?

