It’s Alright To Have A Feast… Every Now & Again

On Saturday I made a conscious decision to eat and drink what I wanted…. Absolutely anything!

It’s been a very long time since I did and it didn’t freak me out! Why? Because I was completely in control, I knew I could stop at any time and I knew it wouldn’t be happening the day after, or even a few days after that, or even the following weekend so that one day really did not make any difference.

It was a gorgeous day, I had done the usual running around with the kids including a trip to the supermarket (I never go to the supermarket… It comes to me!)

I had had a relatively healthy morning of fruit and fibre followed by a turkey breast salad for lunch so I decided I was going to spend the rest of the afternoon spoiling myself!

Cue the following

  • Strawberries and single cream
  • Ice cream – although it was my homemade protein ice cream
  • 1 whole bottle of wine
  • Peri Peri Cabbage Crisps – don’t ask, bit of an experiment although they did taste good, even the husband thought so!
  • 1/2 pizza
  • Sweet potato wedges
  • 1/2 mint Aero bar
  • A few homemade chocolates

In total I consumed 2676 calories, almost 1000 more than my daily allowance!

So why am I not freaking?

Well to start I had done four workouts during the week and not eaten back all my excise calories, but more importantly this was a one off and that includes weekends too! I do not generally use weekends as an excuse to eat crap, if anything I use the extra time to make even healthier food so I know this wont be happening any time again soon.

The problem with a lot of diets is that you put yourself under so many restrictions and it is highly likely you will cave in or if you don’t you will experience other side effects. Throughout my weight loss journey I vowed to not deny myself but to learn to eat treats in moderation. Once the healthier eating got underway the cravings for the bad stuff on a daily basis disappeared but I still have the odd day when I fancy something a little naughty… And why not?

We all deserve to enjoy ourselves every now and again… It’s just nice not to feel guilty about it anymore!

Plus if you look at what I did eat you will see I made some healthier options! 😄 This is something I have learnt and which is key… Make smarter choices…. Enjoy more!

  • I had single instead of double cream (saving double the calories)
  • Home made ice cream, no unneeded sugars
  • Cabbage crisps – need I say more
  • Sweet potato wedges as opposed to normal wedges or fries
  • Homemade chocolates i.e cleaner and a good source of protein
5 thoughts on “It’s Alright To Have A Feast… Every Now & Again

  1. You have a healthy attitude and that’s the main thing. We are allowed to ‘cheat’ every now and then as long as it doesn’t completely take us away from our goal. I allow myself one cheat meal a week which allows me to enjoy dinner with friends, or give in to a craving then get right back on track.

    I love your blog! Followed you on Bloglovin’ 🙂

    C x | gymbagsandgladrags.com

    • Ah thank you!

      That is the point exactly. Some people completely beat themselves up about enjoying themselves every now and again. I have to say just recently my cheats have been less and less frequent and I think that is due to developing a healthier outlook as I’ve been on my fitness journey.

      Love your blog too! Avid reader! x

    • Glad to hear it! Honestly if its a one off there is no need to fear. In my opinion drastically denying yourself will lead to you caving and undoing all your hard work! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

