Indian Koftas – Recipe

We’ve actually had summer in England – or rather 2 weeks of summer which means the BBQ has been out!

Keen to experiment these were first on the agenda!

You should, I would imagine, already have these ingredients to hand as they are pretty much kitchen staples!

  • 1 Small onion (I used red)
  • 600g Lamb Mince
  • 2 Tbsp. Curry Paste
  • 2 Tbsp. Total Greek Yoghurt 0% Fat Free

Firstly pre-soak your skewers if using wooden ones.

Roughly chop the onion and place in a food process until finely chopped.

Add the mince and briefly chop the mince further.

Add the curry paste and Total Greek Yoghurt and mix well.

Divide the mixture into equal portions – I managed to make 10 decent sized Koftas with this mix (if you have a large number of guests you could probably get away with making 15-20 from this mixture) – and press and shape into sausage shapes.

Push through the skewer, ensuring the mixture holds its shape.

Leave to chill for at least 30 minutes – I chilled mine for a good few hours.

Pop on the BBQ and enjoy!

Just as a note – these aren’t overly spicy so are perfect for kids and those who aren’t a fan of spice. I really enjoyed them but the husband thought they were a little bland. To give it a kick add some fresh chillies to the mixture or up the serving of curry paste, which for his I shall do next time… extra spicy! He may just eat his words in future!

Indian Koftas

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of them once cooked as we were too busy eating and chatting!

I served mine with a side serving of Tzatziki made as follows

  • Few tablespoons of Total Greek Yoghurt
  • Half a cucumber – diced
  • Tablespoon of lemon juice

Nutritional Information

  • 152 Calories per Kofta
  • 10.4g Fat of which 2.8 Saturates
  • 3.3g Carbs
  • 11.4g Protein

I may try this recipe next time with minced Turkey – if you do this changes the values to 101 calories per serving, 4.9g Fat, 2.1g Carbs and 12.1g Protein.

If you try it this way let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Indian Koftas – Recipe

  1. These look great!
    And what I like more is that it’s different. I’ve seen enough cauliflower recipes to last me a lifetime, it’s nothing special or new. But these I’ve never seen anywhere else and I spend roughly 60% of my day googling recipes

  2. Pingback: Mini Minced Koftas in a Spicy Sauce | My Passions

What are your thoughts?

