Waterproof Eye Makeup Review

In advance of going on holiday and some would say being vain, I have been keen to try out some waterproof make up products.

I purchased Maybelline’s The Colossal Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara and Rimmel’s Exaggerate Eye Definer (both in black) and gave a little trial run whilst doing The Color Run (no pun intended).

Although I wasn’t actually getting wet during The Color Run, I wanted to test the products out against sweat and against rubbing.

Waterproof MakeupWaterproof Makeup1

Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara (RRP 7.19)

Maybelline Colossal MascaraEasy enough to apply, but I felt that I had to give it a good 3 or 4 coats to get anywhere near the type of coverage I usually achieve with most of my other normal mascaras. Perhaps this is down to the Waterproof formula.

You can see in the second picture the quality and definition of the lashes. After a few coats it really does have some impact and I was happy with the appearance of it. This picture is after a sweaty LBT session followed by an hour lifting weights.

The mascara stood up to getting pelted with powder and a few showers after that and has also withstood an LBT class, an hour doing weights, an hour doing cardio, time in the steam room and sauna and even walking home in this torrential downpour.

You really do need waterproof make up remover to get rid of this stuff! Seems to do what it says on the tin!

Rimmel Exaggerate Eye Definer (RRP £3.99)

Rimmel_Exaggerate_Waterproof_Eye_Definer_0_28g_1_1366733819I am usually a user of mineral powder to create a liner so going back to a pencil was a little strange – as you can see from my picture it isn’t a perfect line. I was in a rush too so all in all not a bad effort.

The pencil comes with a smudge tool on the opposite end which pulls out to reveal a sharpener.

The liner stood up to The Color Run, and an LBT and hour weight session. I didn’t wear for the hour of cardio followed by the steam room / Sauna as I was in a rush this morning. Although it has stood up to the downpour on the way home.generally just lasted the afternoon. My only concern is that if I rub my eye some of the liner seems to come off on my hand so I’m still a little cautious to just how truly waterproof it is. It washes off easily with soap and water – let’s hope it lasts in the pool!

The eye definer is available in a variety of colours – perfect if you want to liven your look up.

I shall report back after my holiday and temperatures of 40C!

What are your thoughts?

