Maybelline Super Stay Gel Nail Colour Review

Having had no luck whatsoever with salon manicures I have decided that sticking to home nail colour is the best (and cheapest) option.

I picked up the Maybelline Forever Strong Gel Nail Colour in Divine Wine within the 3 for 2 at Boots (Usual RRP Ā£4.09)

I quickly applied the colour prior to having guests round so I didn’t make the most careful of applications. It was easy to do due to the curved flat brush to enable precision under pressure! However, the appearance and finish were great for an extremely quick application.

The nails feel like a salon gel manicure but without the thickness, which I think is one of my biggest issues. When the gel manicure is thick and I am hammering away on my keyboard I think it causes the polish to lift which then gets caught and huge chunks peel off! Not what you want after paying Ā£20+

So has it lived up to it’s 7 day promise?

  • After a couple of days a small chips at the tip of the nail were evident but only upon close inspection – these may have been avoided had more time have been taken during application.
  • It seems to ‘scratch’. I think I must sleep with the back of my hand under my head and I always seem to be left with hair strand like imprints on painted nails – this happens with all brands though!
  • I did get a fairly large chip on one of the fingers but I would put this down to my activities during the week as opposed to general day to day wear – that particular nail was also pretty weak which is why I haven’t posted an after picture but as I said it was a rather rushed application.
  • Overall – I am much more impressed having this than paying 5x more for a salon manicure AND I’ll get a good few applications from this!
  • I shall definitely be wearing again!

Maybelline Gel Colour

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Super Stay Gel Nail Colour Review

  1. I really like the shade! I haven’t paid for a manicure in a very long time. It seems like such a waste of money to me when you can buy an entire bottle of nail polish for $4.

  2. Might seem a silly q. Did you use a uv lamp with this nail colour? I have a couple from this range and my nails stay tacky for days – is this why? I only just stopped biting my nails so totally useless with manicure malarkey but will persevere!

    • No I don’t use a UV lamp, I got the impression that you didn’t have to? After a day they felt fine but I find the tackiness happens with all types regardless of brand. Maybe I need to paint first thing in the morning and do nothing all day šŸ™‚

      However I felt it lasted longer than a salon shellac and much cheaper too!

  3. Pingback: Ciate Caviar Manicure – Review | Coming Clean

  4. I bought this polish in the same shade and I must admit it’s been great ! After around 3 days of constant typing, spring cleaning, car cleaning etc etc the tips of my nails were slightly chipped. I applied one more coat on top of that and after 9 days (in total) they STILL look great. Very impressed – going to buy more shades tommo šŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

