Hi-Tec Luca Running Shoe Review + #Giveaway!

Hi-Tec Luca

The Luca’s are described as a minimalist running shoes featuring a reduced seam upper with welded support overlays for ultimate comfort. A ultra lightweight IMEVA midsole with rubber pod inserts deliver a low profile racing shoe feel for the recreational athlete.

Initial Impression

I was expecting the Luca’s in a different colour way (see below) and of course gutted that the trainers sent weren’t in the colour way shown on the Hi-Tec website. I am not a fan of baby pinks – hell I barely wear any colour but black, aside from when I’m in the gym where I will experiment with neons and brighter colours. I’m sure you’ll agree that this colour way is just funkier and I would even be quite happy wearing these casually.

Hi-Tec Luca Neon

The shoe felt very light in my hand, in fact they weigh only 210g, and the overall quality was quite impressive, especially as Hi-Tec is regarded by some as a low end brand. The only think I noticed was a Hi-Tec badge on one of the trainers had been put on slightly skewed but you would only notice this if you really got up close.

I did however think the black cheapened the look of the shoe as the front panel was a synthetic material which gave a plastic appearance. Having looked at the Luca’s available on the Hi-Tec website there are some really funky colour ways so I wouldn’t discount this shoe entirely.

The Fit

I personally feel that the sizing comes up a little big both length and the width, I am a 6 (and had a 6 sent) but I did feel like my feet could move around in them. When I’m undertaking physical activity I want a trainer that fits me snug and not one I have to worry about slipping or my feet slipping out of (especially if I’m doing spinning!). They would be great for undertaking class activities such as LBT as they are so light and when you are coming to the end of the class and feel like you can barely lift your feet off the ground these would be great – there are times in the past where I have taken my trainers off as my feet feel so heavy!

I’m aware that these trainers are specifically labelled as a running shoe, but even with running on the treadmill I just didn’t feel comfortable. Unfortunately I didn’t wear to my usual LBT class due to them feeling big – doing squats and your feet slipping is not great!

Had the fit been perfect then I may feel completely differently about this trainer. Especially as there are some great reviews of the Luca’s on the Hi-Tec website so if you are after a reasonably priced trainer / running shoe then the Luca’s are definitely worth considering – just take into account my thoughts on sizing!

Hi-Tec Wearing

So… as I don’t plan to wear these trainers again they are up for grabs!!

As I mentioned they are a size 6, but I do feel they would fit a 6.5 / 7 at a push!

As usual all you have to do to be in with a chance of winning is the following.

  1. Comment on this post
  2. Follow Coming Clean by email, bloglovin, or WordPress Reader.
  3. Share this competition on Twitter and Facebook using the buttons below!

You only have to do at least one but the more you do the more chance you have of winning!

Only stipulation is you have to be a UK entrant due to postage costs. Competition ends 30th September at midnight.

Good luck!

5 thoughts on “Hi-Tec Luca Running Shoe Review + #Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Hi-Tec Luca Trainer Winner | Coming Clean

What are your thoughts?

