Session 6… The PT Diaries

I honestly can’t believe that we are at session 6 – the time has flown!

After an absolute drenching before getting to the gym I made a start or getting stretched and warmed up.

After Session 5 where I just felt urgh today’s session was – well not easy but it was manageable, well it was until I got on the rowing machine that is (flashbacks to my 1000m challenge ensued). It didn’t help that the night before the session the DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) kicked in around my back, shoulders and upper arms but everywhere else it is starting to ease off.

In general I am fairly fit but I just lack the ability to really push myself during physical exercise and my endurance levels, especially with cardio are pretty poor but it is improving (I think). I just need to stick it out and by having the PT sessions I feel it has really had a massive impact on my free training sessions. I now know what I need to be doing to get results and doing 20 minutes on the cross trainer a bit on the rowing machine and some weights just aren’t gonna cut it! Unfortunately that is what I did for a long time then thought I could just eat what I want in the early days. Put it this way YOU CAN’T! Some education made a massive difference last year but now it’s about making a major difference – it’s no longer about being slim, it is about being fit and healthy and a few muscles won’t hurt either!

So this session we once again mixed it up a little, Barry is still insistent I get on that bloody bike though!

Here is what I did – why not give it a go and see how you do!

  • Warm Up X-trainer 8 mins (keeping heart rate between 130-150bpm)
  • Walking Lunges + Shoulder Press 10m/8m/6m/4m X3
  • Interval Sprints on Spin Cycle (5 minutes)
    • 40secs Low Intensity
    • 20sec Sprint 85-90% HR (put it this way mine can get up to 194bpm!)
  • Resistance Training
    • Super Sets 3×12 with a break between each set (I did this to get my heart rate back to 150 but a 30 second break should be fine).
      • Tricep Cable Push Down (straight bar)
      • Seated Latt Pull Down(wide grip)
    • Break
      • Smith Squats (Barbell)
      • Bench Step Ups (6kg Dumbbells)
    • Break
      • Incline Bench Crunch
      • Bench Knee lift
  • Core Board 3x15secs Press Ups (spin)
  • Cardio Cycle 5 mins level 8 RPM 75+
  • Finisher
    • 500m Row level 8 (as fast as you can – should take about 2m 30s)
    • Stretch

Overall another great session that burnt approx. 650 calories (my HRM kept getting a little temperamental) I really feel that I have benefited from PT sessions and wish I had started much sooner in my ‘Coming Clean’ and getting fit journey as I would probably be in a completely different place right now. I was lucky if I managed to do around 300 calories in an hour when free styling. There are plenty of YouTube videos out there and inspirational people on Twitter but if you really want pushing to do your best and to make you keep going when you wanted to give up 3 times previously then personal training is definitely something to consider.

I’m yet to do further measurements but I can tell you my weight has increased slightly. I’m not scared at this stage, after all muscle weighs more than fat and I would much rather have more muscle than fat! I plan to take some further measurements at the end of next week after session 8 is complete to see my progress.

I have two more PT sessions left as part of this block but plan to undertake another 8 which will finish just a couple of weeks before my sisters wedding and will hopefully mean I will get into my bridesmaid dress with ease and furthermore really set me on track for working out myself and getting the most out of it!

My past PT Diaries can be found below….

What are your thoughts?

