2014… the year of #CaseysCrew

This year marks what should (and still is) my sons 10th birthday!

He was born too soon at 20 weeks on the 3rd June 2004 due to a condition I suffer from called ‘Incompetent Cervix’. After losing him I went on to suffer an early miscarriage before getting pregnant with my eldest daughter, Stevie now 8 and my youngest daughter, Jaime now 2.

CaseyStevie born at 33 WeeksJaime

To mark 10 years we have a number of things going on…

Firstly my husband, his dad and friend Mike are taking part in the annual ScumRun which is this year raising funds exclusively for Tommy’s the baby charity – our charity of choice. This year Tommy’s aims to open a fourth research centre which will purely focus on early miscarriage. Something that over 250,000 women experience each year.

Casey's Crew

Tommy’s hope to raise £100,000 from this activity alone. So far our fundraising total stands at £2770.93 (excluding gift aid) and smashing our target of £2004!

To support our fundraising efforts we are holding an Afternoon Tea this Sunday 27th April at 12 noon at Sugar, Spice n All Stuff Iced at Sowerby Bridge. Priced at £10 per person with £5 from each afternoon tea benefiting Tommy’s. Additionally there will also be a raffle and you can purchase tickets via text if you can’t make it on Sunday. Simple text CCSR77 £1 to 70070 and state your name and include the message raffle (if it allows you to send a message, it should ask this on the confirmation text you get back). Full details about the event and raffle prizes can be found on our facebook page.

There will be other events taking place over the next few months of which there will be more information to follow, but in the meantime I wanted to share the news that I have signed up to the Great Yorkshire Run and will be completing my first 10k in September!

This will be a bit of a challenge especially as I have been out of action for the last couple of months owing to whiplash, but hopefully it will help me on the road to recovery and fitness! For anyone that knows me they will know I am not a runner so this will be some challenge!

I am quite excited about donning my Tommy’s running vest – I have been coveting them for a number of years and if I was ever going to do a run it had to be in 2014! So if anyone fancies joining me in Sheffield on the 28th April let me know! It would be great to get some running buddies!

You can donate here should you so wish!

I look forward to keeping you posted on the challenges!

What are your thoughts?

